About Me

I’m Epistemic Faith Crisis, the eponymous author of this blog.

I choose to write because I need an outlet for the thoughts about God and faith and Christianity that have been swirling around my head for several months now.  As the popular song goes, “If I get it all down on paper, it’s no longer inside of me / Threatening the life it belongs to.”

I also write because I want responses.  Affirmation or confrontation, it doesn’t matter to me: I want to hear what people think about what I’m going through.  I want to hear from people who’ve gone through similar periods in their own lives.  I want answers to questions that I haven’t yet found myself.

I’m writing anonymously for two reasons.  If this turns out to be a brief interlude in an otherwise faith-filled life, I do not want the spectre of public unfaith to follow me for the remaining decades of my life; this will have been a private issue, one dealt with and learned from, and shared only occasionally with those who might benefit from knowledge of it.  I also flatter myself that there may be people who look up to me and my faith, and I don’t want to let them down or challenge their faith, whether or not this crisis turns out temporary or permanent.

Because I write anonymously, I will strive to omit any details of which particular sect of Christianity I belong to.  By my omission of those details I hope also to avoid the sort of inter-denominational bickering that has characterized much of my experience of Christianity.  We will see how achievable that goal is.

As my pseudonym suggests, I find myself in the midst of a faith crisis.  For months now I have neither thought nor felt any confidence in the veridicality of the faith I’ve held for years.  Perhaps I had never considered many of the questions that I will post in time, or perhaps the answers I previously believed no longer ring true in my mind; maybe it’s a little of both.  In either case, this crisis leaves me with a gaping hole in my self-concept which will not be repaired until I reach an understanding of the issues that I am comfortable with, and that understanding is something I believe I am unlikely to achieve without opening my issues up for open discussion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment